Presidents Cup 2019 preview

by Scott Ludwig

Presidents Cup 2019 begins on Sunday. Eight of the top Senior B teams from North America will meet at the Kahnawake Sports Complex in an eight-day event.

Here is a look at each team:

Kahnawake Mohawks

Qualified: Host (Quebec Senior Lacrosse League)

Regular season: 10-1-0

League playoffs: 0-2

Tournament history: Silver (1968, 1979, 2004, 2013, 2016); Bronze (1996, 2000, 2008, 2010)

Akwesasne Bucks

Qualified: Can-Am Lacrosse League champion

Regular season: 12-2-0

League playoffs: 9-1 (defeated Buffalo Creek Thunder, Allegany Arrows, Tuscarora Tomahawks)

Tournament history: first-year club

Snake Island Muskies

Qualified: Three Nations Senior Lacrosse League

Regular season: 2-5-1 vs Quebec Senior Lacrosse League teams

League playoffs: none (Caughnawaga Indians, St. Regis Braves both sat out the 2019 season)

Tournament history: Silver (2011)

Team Nova Scotia

Qualified: Lacrosse Nova Scotia representative 

Regular season: four-team Nova Scotia Senior Lacrosse League

League playoffs: team made up of players from all four teams

Tournament history: Silver (1975)

Capital Region Axemen

Qualified: Quebec Senior Lacrosse League champion 

Regular season: 6-4-1 (second)

League playoffs: 4-0 (defeated Windsor Eagles, Mohawks)

Tournament history: Silver (2015)

Six Nations Rivermen

Qualified: Ontario champion

Regular season: 12-3-0 (first)

League playoffs: 6-2 (defeated Owen Sound North Stars, Oakville)

Tournament history: Gold (2015); Silver (2014, 2017)

St. Albert Miners

Qualified: Rocky Mountain Lacrosse League champion 

Regular season: 15-1-0 (first)

League playoffs: 6-0 (defeated Beaumont Outlaws, Calgary Mountaineers)

Tournament history: Gold (2016, 2017, 2018); Silver (1990, 1991, 1993); Bronze (1989, 1992, 1995, 2014)

Ladner Pioneers

Qualified: West Coast Senior Lacrosse Association champion 

Regular season: 16-2-0

League playoffs: 6-0 (defeated Victoria Wolves, Nanaimo Timbermen)

Tournament history: Gold (1998, 2004); Bronze (1997)