Mohawks To Face Miners In Presidents' Cup Final

by Greg Horn

Greg Horn Sat, Sep 03, 2016

LEDUC, ALBERTA – Sixteen years after the Brooklin Merchants defeated the Kahnawake Mohawks in the 2000 Presidents’ Cup, the two teams faced off again for another chance at Presidents’ Cup gold.

Kahnawake Mohawks lefty Patrick Saunders (Markie Kirby, Karahkwanoron Two-Axe) gave the Mohawks a 1-0 lead at 1:59 of the first period. Saunders (Callum Crawford, Ky Horn) extended the Mohawks’ lead to 2-0 at 11:16.

The second period saw Brooklin’s Chad Levick (Jonas Derks, Martin Whittaker) make it 2-1 at 1:12 of the period. Saunders (Crawford, Peter Jacobs) netted his third of the game at 2:50 to give the Mohawks a 3-1 lead.

The Mohawks started the third period on the tail end of a powerplay and Saunders (Kasey Beirnes, Peter Jacobs) scored his fourth goal of the game to give the Mohawks a 4-1 lead. At 5:50 Brooklin’s Jonas Derks (John Bergsma) made it 5-2 on a powerplay goal of his own. Jacobs (Saunders, Nick Angus) started a three-goal run by the Mohawks at 6:18. Crawford then scored at 8:23 and then a shorthanded goal at 12:51 to make it 7-2 for the Mohawks. Derks then scored his second of the game at 15:35 to cut the score to 7-3. With just 1:07 left to play in the game Levick (Bergsma, Chris Attwood) made it 7-4.

In the other semifinal, the host St. Albert Miners downed the Native Sons by a score of 14-5 to book their date with the Mohawks today at 4:30 p.m.

Iorì:wase’s covered of the 2016 Presidents Cup in Leduc, Alberta is brought to you by our friends at the Kahnawake Driving Range and Club Rez.

— Iorì:wase